Current Undergrad Faculty


ENS Program Faculty

Betsy Beymer-Farris: Director: | Commodity chains and networks, gender and the environment, environmental conservation, East Africa, tropical ecology.

Tony Stallins: Undergraduate Advisor: | Ecology, climate change, science and technology studies.

Lauren Cagle: | Environmental rhetoric, climate change communication, disability studies.

Lisa Cliggett: | Household political economy, sub-saharan Africa, aging and life course, migration and new land settlement, political economy, kinship-family and social organization.

Alan Fryar: | Hydrogeology, low temperature geochemistry

Bob Sandmeyer: | Environmental philosophy.

Ted Schatzki: | Theory of social life, philosophy of social science.

Alice Turkington: | Weathering, erosion, stone decay, geomorphology.

Ernest Yanarella: | Appalachian studies, peace studies, political science.

ENS Staff

Lori Tyndall: Department Manager:

Shane Tedder: Sustainability Coordinator: | Sustainable transportation systems.

ENS Affiliate Faculty:

Mary Anglin: | Medical anthropology, political economy, Latin America, HIV/ AIDS.

Richard Jefferies: | Rituals behaviors, cultural ecology, prehistoric economic systems, subsistence systems.

Ann Kingsolver: | Appalachian studies, social justice, Latin America.

Jim Krupa: | Ecology, evolutionary biology, mammology.

Sarah Lyon: | Gender and women, political economy, ethical consumption, Latin America, labor.

Priscilla McCutcheon: | Alternative food movements, sustainable agriculture, black geographies, race and racism, spirituality and religion

Tad Mutersbaugh: | Product certification, agrarian studies, marxist cultural and social theory, Latin America.

Kathryn Newfont: | Environmental history, Appalachian history.

Shannon Plank: | Native American studies.

Erik Reece: | Environmental journalism, creative writing.

Randall Roorda: | Literary theory, composition and rhetoric, gender and the environment.

Doug Slaymaker: | Contemporary Japanese literature, animal studies, disaster studies

Nari Senanayake: | health-environment geography, political ecology, agrarian livelihoods, feminist geographies, South Asian studies

ENS Sudent Affiliates:

Kelly Davison, ENS Student Representative

Michael Morris, ENS Student Representative

Carlie Martindale, Spencer Hodson, Kristen Gould, ENS Student Advisory Council



Enter your linkblue username.
Enter your linkblue password.
Secure Login

This login is SSL protected