Who are the ENS Faculty?

ENS Program Faculty
Dr. Betsy Beymer-Farris, Director: bbeymer-farris@uky.edu | Commodity chains and networks, gender and the environment, environmental conservation, East Africa, tropical ecology.

Dr. Bob Sandmeyer, Director of Undergraduate Studies: bob.sandmeyer@uky.edu | Environmental philosophy.

Lori TyndallDepartment Manager: l.tyndall@uky.edu

Shane Tedder, Sustainability Coordinator: shane.tedder@uky.edu | Sustainable transportation systems.

Dr. David Atwood: datwood@uky.edu | Speciation and biological activity, aqueous contaminants.

Dr. Lisa Cliggett: lisa.cliggett@uky.edu | Household political economy, sub-saharan Africa, aging and life course, migration and new land settlement, political economy, kinship-family and social organization.

“At the core, the environment is everything. All of our livelihood – our ability to exist as humans – depends on the environment. Understanding how social, economic and political systems AS WELL AS biophysical processes, intersect with ecosystems is central to our survival as humans, and the earth’s future. Discovering paths for resilience and adaptation requires cross-disciplinary training – in social and natural sciences.  An ENS major gives students the broad training, perspectives and skills necessary to help build a resilient future for all of us.”

Dr. Alan Fryar: alan.fryar@uky.edu | Hydrogeology, low temperature geochemistry.

"ENS addresses questions that are critical for the future of human existence: 'How do we balance the needs of the environment and society? What are our responsibilities to future generations?' Few programs provide an interdisciplinary, liberal-arts perspective on the environment and sustainability. ENS does so while offering a flexible curriculum that allows students to focus on their areas of interest."

Dr. Jim Krupa: james.krupa@uky.edu | Ecology, evolutionary biology, mammology.

Dr. Tad Mutersbaugh: tmute2@uky.edu | Biodiversity, product certification, agrarian studies, marxist cultural and social theory, latin america.

Dr. Erik Reece: erik.reece@uky.edu | Environmental journalism, creative writing.

Dr. Ted Schatzki: schatzki@uky.edu | Theory of social life, philosophy of social science.

"ENS allows students to learn and address perhaps the greatest challenge to face humanity in the 21st-century: climate change.  The importance of this issue is only magnified by its relations with other critical challenges such as poverty, migration, energy, and political conflict.  The flexibility of the major enables students to chart a personalized path through the disciplines and courses relevant to meeting these issues and, thus, to help shape his/her education."

Dr. Tony Stallins: ja.stallins@uky.edu | Ecology, climate change, environmental history, science and technology studies.
"ENS majors seek to understand not only the science and not only the politics and culture, but all three and how they interact and influence one another. They learn to think beyond narrow expertises and identities and job titles in order to comprehend environmental issues and the ways in which we might pursue solutions. ENS majors get a view of the bigger picture, of the contradictions, tradeoffs, and complexity that comes with a synthesizing, pluralistic perspective on environmental issues"

Dr. Alice Turkington: alicet@uky.edu | Weathering, erosion, stone decay, geomorphology.

Dr.  Ernest Yanarella: ejyana@uky.edu | Appalachian studies, peace studies, political science.

“The ENS major offers multidisciplinary perspectives on a field that will prove vital to the 21st century challenges the United States and—indeed the entire world—are facing.  However skeptical parts of the national political scene may appear toward environmentalism and sustainability, professionals in this field will lead the way toward shaping critical policy changes to solve growing threats to our Ecosystem.”                       

Julianna Dantzer, Student Representative: ENS Junior

Nichole Forte, Student Representative: ENS Junior

 

ENS Affiliate Faculty:

Dr. Mary Anglin: manglin@uky.edu | Medical anthropology, political economy, Latin America, HIV/ AIDS.

Dr. Lauren Cagle: lauren.cagle@uky.edu | Environmental Rhetoric, climate change communication, disability studies.

Dr. Ann Kingslover: ann.kingsolver@uky.edu | Appalachian studies, social justice, latin america.

Dr. Rebecca Glasscock: rebecca.glasscock@uky.edu | Food systems, agricultural geography.

Dr. Richard Jefferies: rwwjeff1@uky.edu | Rituals behaviors, cultural ecology, prehistoric economic systems, subsistence systems.

Dr. Sarah Lyon: sarah.lyon@uky.edu | Gender and women, political economy, ethical consumption, latin america, labor.

Dr. Carmen Martinez Novo: carmen.martinez@uky.edu | Latin American studies, social theory, race and ethnicity, international political economy.

Dr. Kathryn Newfont: kathryn.newfont@uky.edu | Environmental history, Appalachian history.

Dr. Shannon Plank: shannon.plank@uky.edu | Native american studies.

Dr. Randall Roorda: rroorda@uky.edu | Literary theory, composition and rhetoric, gender and the environment.

X
Enter your linkblue username.
Enter your linkblue password.
Secure Login

This login is SSL protected

Loading